What We Wish For

There’s a moral to the original story of Aladdin, and it simply is… BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR.

Far to many of us complain and bitch over what everyone else has and why we can’t have it… and then we wish for … well whatever.  We might wish misfortune on those people we bitch about, we might wish for great things we want.  Well like the good little weak species we are, when we get what we wish for we complain about that too!  Why?  Because it didn’t meet our expectations.  What an ungrateful species we are… even when we wish for something and we get it we still bitch!  Be careful what you wish for.

You know when people bitch about the rich getting richer?  Well those poor people doing the bitching should stop for minute and be grateful for what they currently have, even if the rich guy is driving the Beamer and the poor guy ito quests driving the Pinto… yes a Pinto sucks, but for fucks sake, your Pinto driving ungrateful ass could be riding a HUFFY!  Stop worrying about what the rich guy has and focus on how the rich guy got there and learn something… but no, we’re such a over stuffed, self absorbed creature that only a handful of the human race can actually do that… learn from the rich guy and admire him.  Yet we wish for the nice car and the money and when we get something that isn’t quite what we wanted we bitch.

What’s the point of my rant here?

Because I wished to find Mony, I wished and wished and wished… and guess what?  I found her.  I already said that it didn’t matter if she was mauled by a bear or fucking locked in a damn crazy hospital, I’d take her.  When someone asked me ‘what if she’s a serial killer?’ my answer was “I’ll help her bury the bodies”.  I wished and I got my wish.

Well guess what… here’s what that wish costs.  It cost me money, it cost me sleep, it cost me time with my children, it cost me time from my work, it cost me to question some of my dogma, it put into question how I did things with my kids, it forced me to rethink my passions, it drudge up memories I long wanted buried.  She came with deep seeded issues of her own that I chose to take on, she wasn’t rich or poor, she wasn’t famous, she wasn’t without kids, she had an ex husband, and came with a psycho ex boyfriend… sure I have a life before Monyka so it was an relatively even swap on the baggage… but the point is that the wish didn’t come without it’s costs, changes and price… And was I supposed to be careful for what I wished for?

NO

What I was supposed to do, AND I DO!!!  is appreciate every one of those things because they are part of her, part of a life we’re creating together, all that comes with the wish, with the want… should I be like the weaker of our species and complain that I didn’t get a perfect robot woman?  Should I bitch that she has kids or an ex?  Why?  Why should I complain about not having some Stepford wife when I have what I wished for?

Be Careful what you wish for… for those of you that can’t appreciate what you have and can do nothing but complain about everything you don’t have… have fun with that, because it will be the one absolute you’ll do for the rest of your life… for me… I am going to be on that percentage that can appreciate what I wished for and figure out how to get more of the things I want.

A little appreciation goes a long way… just saying.

About E. Vincent

Artist, Entrepreneur. Designer, Painter, Muralist, Illustrator, Writer. Business Analyst and Developer, Photography Caddy, Father, Lover, Fighter, Friend. INDESTRUCTIBLE, UNSTOPPABLE, INSEPARABLE, A Child of Destiny. Lover of Rembrandt, Da Vinci, Degas, Monet, Varga, Huerta, Royo, Adams, Swan, Lee, Warhol, Clarke, Bradbury, Serling and many other masters of the creative universe View all posts by E. Vincent

Leave a Reply

UPROXX

The Culture Of Now

The Comic Arts Council

A real person's guide to relationships from a real relationship

AUTHORS PROMOTION

Books marketing and writer's PR - I may be able to help

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Tattoo Book Reviews

We review tattoo and tattoo designs from the markets leading tattoo artists.

Jaye Peaches

Enticingly kinky - BDSM Erotic Romance

THEE ART VENDO STUDIOS

Doers of things; makers of art

In Love...Again

A real person's guide to relationships from a real relationship

