The Other Woman… Sandy

Here it is, seven days after the bitch known as Sandy ravaged the New Jersey coast and we sat right in the thick of the direct hit, our little  town among several that was ravaged by the woman who became known as the  Super  Storm Sandy, in some circles she was known as Franken-Storm, either way, to me she was the other woman.  The talk that we’ll hear for the next couple of weeks will be about the  many lives Sandy wrecked, the homes she took back with her to the sea, the things lost and the lives changed forever, and this is not something I need to talk about here… however, I do need to impart on you when you walk through what was left of our bayfront you can’t help but feel horrible for being lucky.  See, while the bitch came creeping right to  our door, she backed off at the last minute and the eight  houses on my block were spared the devestation that was left in her wake; collapsed buildings, houses torn from their foundations, personal lives strewn about the beach and memories swaying in the surf… we were lucky, very lucky  to have been spared what my friends and neighbours and fellow citizens have been forced to endure.

However she still is the other woman… the kind that start out as  nothing more than a mere fleeting interest; “We’re watching tropical storm Sandy down here in the southern Atlantic”… ‘click’ interest passed.  Then again she seems to some how find her way  back into your line of sight “Hey E. did you  hear about this storm their watching, Sandy?”  A little blah blah blah and interest passes again.  Then one more time she some how shows that she has interest in you:  “Tropical Storm Sandy is now a Cat 1 Hurricane and we’re watching to see where she may make landfall…”  but wait, she’s a persistent bitch and she suddenly shows you her tits when you expected it least: “She will most likely make landfall in New Jersey!”

Now you think by this time the other woman would have been dealt with, but Sandy put her best ass shaking forward and now became a thorn in the side of my relationship; she affected Mony and me and that was on the day she was supposed to strike, how befitting on the day of her imminent arrival that she would have an impact on us.  And in part it  was my fault, to be fair in part it was Mony’s fault, we let the bitch get to us.  The details are  unimportant but let me say this, when in crisis I am not a  caregiver, not  to my kids, not to my  friends and apparently not to Mony, I go  into command mode, survival mode and action mode and I am not so great at comfort mode…so  this was something that affected Mony.  Anyway, we weathered the first night and got through it, Mony was amazing and gave my  youngest son this comfort and security I sadly am no good at when it comes to  situations like this…I am more than grateful for that and can never repay her  for this kindness.

But regardless of my lack of comforting and my commanding survival instincts, Sandy got to us, and tried hard to pull her and I apart as we  approached the bitch from two different angles, disagreeing on some things but ultimately sticking together and doing a bit of soul searching, reassessing and being a bit introspective…it was in this moment that relationships can be broken or made, fact is that Mony didn’t really have a clue on how I operated and she  may have taken it as a personal slight.  After the bitch blew out  of town, I  made every effort to  correct this misunderstanding…what happened during the next several days brought her and I closer together.  Being without power for five days we had only us, blankets, games, and time…and we used every minute of it.  When  the power came back on, I refused to put the  lights back on and we spent the night together in candle and flash light,  and for the  next couple of days without internet, phone and cable, we also had each other.

See, what  the other woman forgot was that in the worst situations, some people  come together and come out  stronger, as a sign on my block  stated “Tough Times Come and Go, Tough  People Stay” or  something to  that effect, and that’s what Mony and I are, tough people.  Sure I may get into more detail on what actually transpired between us, but there’s been enough drama for the last week due to the other woman, I’d rather point out that these last seven  days  are not going to be forgotten, and candlelight and board games will  be just one more tool in our arsenal to become a closer and stronger couple…and if I must say that no matter how much I loved her for the last year, I  love her ten times more than I did before the storm.

Yeah, I babbled here, just random thoughts about us, but maybe I’ll get into a groove at some point and make more sense…for now, all you need to know is that the Other Woman; SANDY, cannot break Mony and me,  and for that I love Mony even more for not letting her win.  I am grateful for Mony staying by my side through this tragedy, and for having faith in me through these tough  moments.  I’m grateful for not losing our home and all our memories, belongings and important records, and I am grateful that I have my children,  health and once again I  am grateful I have Mony in my life…thank you Mony.

Thanks for reading.

E. Vincent

About E. Vincent

Artist, Entrepreneur. Designer, Painter, Muralist, Illustrator, Writer. Business Analyst and Developer, Photography Caddy, Father, Lover, Fighter, Friend. INDESTRUCTIBLE, UNSTOPPABLE, INSEPARABLE, A Child of Destiny. Lover of Rembrandt, Da Vinci, Degas, Monet, Varga, Huerta, Royo, Adams, Swan, Lee, Warhol, Clarke, Bradbury, Serling and many other masters of the creative universe View all posts by E. Vincent

Leave a Reply

UPROXX

The Culture Of Now

The Comic Arts Council

A real person's guide to relationships from a real relationship

AUTHORS PROMOTION

Books marketing and writer's PR - I may be able to help

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Tattoo Book Reviews

We review tattoo and tattoo designs from the markets leading tattoo artists.

Jaye Peaches

Enticingly kinky - BDSM Erotic Romance

THEE ART VENDO STUDIOS

Doers of things; makers of art

In Love...Again

A real person's guide to relationships from a real relationship

