What One Year #Anniversary Means

Today is Mony and my one year anniversary.  (Insert Applause Here).

So what, some may say, other’s may say awesome! But what’s so important about one year?  Allow me the pleasure of explaining what an anniversary really means.  First, let me set this up…if you haven’t been here before, I broke Mony’s heart 22 years ago…knowing full well that she was my first love, knowing full well how I felt with her, but I still did it like so many young lovers.  It wasn’t until years later that I realized I made a mistake, and that guilt and lost love lasted with me for 22 years, no one could meet the bar I had set, no one could replace the feelings I had, felt or needed…and this wasn’t about some young childish love…

She glowed when I met her on that blind date…I’m sure I’ve written my story here in the blog, but the point is that 22 years ago, I fell in love with my first love, and never truly stopped loving her no matter what happened in life…she was always in my heart and soul, no matter what I tried.  So, fast forward to 2011 and I find her…and on June 14th of last year, I poured my heart out to her and begged her forgiveness.  You get the picture, a classic tale of lost love found…I’m sure you’ve seen a few Nicholas Sparks movies (the Notebook would be a good example…which is mine and Mony’s favourite movie (( and we didn’t know that tid bit until this past year))…

So here it us, June 14th 2012 and we have come from two lost souls to one and while we still have more to learn, more growing, and plenty of adventures ahead of us, we’re going to do it together…but still, what does one year anniversary mean…?

Well, I gave Mony her card a little after midnight, and she went off to the bedroom to get me mine (which was incredible… but I can’t share it with you because it’s that personal), and while she was off getting it, I glanced at the clock 12:15am, and said to myself that we were 15  minutes into our second year, which made me realize, after all these years, what an anniversary really was. Everyone celebrates an anniversary to mark another year together, the successes of being together through thick and thin, ups and downs, good and bad, and they celebrate their success by marking the final day of that year as the first day of the union…so in essence, 366 days later.  But what I finally realized was, in my thought I said we’re off to a great start for the second year, what I realizes was, that an anniversary is to start off the next year on a positive note.

Now for some of you, you might have realized this long before me, but for me it is some form of an epiphany, I had not realized, whether my own or someone else’s, that an anniversary was more than celebrating a year gone by…it wasn’t until this very night, at 12:15am that I realized how much more important an anniversary really is, because it starts off the next year on a positive note that should be carried through the next 365 days…

What does an anniversary mean?  It means that happiness should not end because a year passed, but should always be celebrated, especially if it is with the person you know you’re supposed to spend the rest of your life with.

Thanks

E. Vincent

About E. Vincent

Artist, Entrepreneur. Designer, Painter, Muralist, Illustrator, Writer. Business Analyst and Developer, Photography Caddy, Father, Lover, Fighter, Friend. INDESTRUCTIBLE, UNSTOPPABLE, INSEPARABLE, A Child of Destiny. Lover of Rembrandt, Da Vinci, Degas, Monet, Varga, Huerta, Royo, Adams, Swan, Lee, Warhol, Clarke, Bradbury, Serling and many other masters of the creative universe View all posts by E. Vincent

Leave a Reply

UPROXX

The Culture Of Now

The Comic Arts Council

A real person's guide to relationships from a real relationship

AUTHORS PROMOTION

Books marketing and writer's PR - I may be able to help

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Tattoo Book Reviews

We review tattoo and tattoo designs from the markets leading tattoo artists.

Jaye Peaches

Enticingly kinky - BDSM Erotic Romance

THEE ART VENDO STUDIOS

Doers of things; makers of art

In Love...Again

A real person's guide to relationships from a real relationship

